HOME -> Strong Programs -> Content


2019-01-01 11:58:29 Source : Author : hits count :


The Agriculture School of Yangtze University was established in 1977 and evolved from the Departments of Agriculture, Plant Protection and Soil Agricultural Chemistry in Jingzhou Branch of former Huazhong College of Agriculture which changed its name to Hubei Agricultural College in 1985. The original Hubei Agricultural College adjusted its department and merged the three departments into the Department of Agriculture in 1987. The Agriculture School was merged from Department of Agriculture of original Hubei College of Agriculture, Hubei Provincial Engineering and Technology Research Center on Waterlogged Land Development and Hubei Rural Vocational Technical Teachers’ Training Center in 2003.

The Agriculture School consists of three departments of Agricu365bet官网在线lture, Seed science and engineering,Plant Protection and Agricultural Resources and Environment now, and the faculty is strong. There are a total of 84 faculty and staffs in the College with 56 full-time teachers, 20 professors, 15 associate professors and 45 Ph.D. There are 2 full-time Chutian scholars, 3 Distinguished Chutian scholar, 1 “part-time academician” and 1 scholar of the "Hundred Talents Program". 5 experts receive the special grants from Central and Provincial Government, 3 teachers are the candidates of the second high-level personnel of the new century engineering of Hubei Province, one national outstanding teachers and 1 of the top ten post-doctor in Hubei Province.

The College has 2 provincial key disciplines, 1 first strategic and emerging (pillar) industry personnel training program of Hubei Province, 1 doctoral program, 2 master’s programs, 1 national characteristic discipline, 1 provincial-level brand major, 1 provincial excellent course, 1 provincial characteristic subject, 2 provincial quality courses, 1 Engineering Research Center of Ministry of Education, 1 training base of the Ministry of Agriculture, 1 Provincial Key Laboratory, 3 Central and local governments to build labs, 1 provincial engineering technology center, 1 provincial teacher training center and 1 qualification unit of pesticide registration trial of Ministry of Agriculture.

At present, the school has 44 cooperation bases outside. The rate of graduate-study admission is above 30% and the employment rate remains above 96%.

In recent years, academic research funds of the College amounted to 30 million yuan, which included individual funds of 15.9 million yuan to preside over industry major projects in 2011. The College won the National Natural Science Foundation projects for seven consecutive years, award 4 first prizes, 10 second prizes, 12 third prizes of provincial and ministerial scientific and technological progress, and more than 50 patents. More than 1,000 academic papers were published, more than 80 papers were SCI EI or ISTP cited.

The School offers the following Ph.D. degree programs and Master’s degree programs.
Ph.D. Degree Programs
Crop Breeding
Crop Planting
Agrology and Plant Nutrition
Master’s Degree Programs
Agricultural Geology
Plant Protection

For more information about Agriculture School of of Yangtze University, please visit  


Tags: EDITOR:admin